31 October - 6 November

Tocumwal Golf and Bowling Club Results 31/10 - 6/11/16

Tuesday saw a full field of visitors  and members gather early for Champayne  together with egg and bacon rolls before moving out for a shotgun start at 10.00 to commence our Melbourne Cup Tournament.  Ladies Stableford winners on the Captains Course were Jenny Syme (Nelson Bay GC) with 43 pts, 2nd place went to Chris Castles 37 ( Nelson Bayon GC) on c/back from Roslyn Seymour.. NTP's went to Kath Allen 2nd, Dawn Ewen 17th.. Stableford winners on the Presidents Course were Gina Brown 38, 2nd place went to Janine Taylor 36 on c/back from Robyn Conrick.. NTP's went to Sandra Williams 2nd, Michelle Field 14th.. Mens winners on the Captains Course were Gerry Lawson (Jerilderie GC) 40 pts, 2nd place went to Kevin Morey 39 on c/back from Brian Rooney .. NTP's went to Alan Leggate 2nd, Ross Clark 17th.. Mens Stableford winners on the Presidents Course were Colin Holdsworth 39 pts, 2nd place was Tony Simons 37, Denis Frost was 3rd with 36.. NTP's went to Greg Watmore 2nd, Paul Taylor 14th..Every group had to play a yellow range ball in turn that saw Presidents winners being Bruce Cavanagh/Nat Beard/Marg Varley/Faye Miller with 39 pts,, Captains winners were Ron Loversidge/Phil Dungan/Dianne Dungan/Sue Davies with 40 pts..

Wednesday was Stableford on the Presidents Course with ladies Division 1 going to Michelle Field with 37 pts on c/back from Patricia Frost. Chris Castle from Nelson Bay was the Division 2 winner with 41 pts followed by Gayle Edwards 37. NTP's went to Nola Whiteford 2nd, Patricia Frost 18th.. Mens Division 1 Stableford winner was Ron Castles (Nelson Bay) with 42 pts to beat his wife by 1 pt!! Stephen Conrick took r/up with 37..


Division 2 went to Barry Wilson with 38 pts on c/back from David Waters (Rosebud GC).. Division 3 was won by Noel McKay 37 pts on c/back from Peter Cunningham.. NTP's went to Colin Holdsworth  2nd, Noel Mckay 18th.

The last day of our tournament on Thursday was a par 3 Competition on the Captains Course with a shotgun start at 10.00. Mens winner was Ron Liversidge with 44 net, 2nd was Kevin Morey 49 net on c/back from Brian Rooney.. NTP's went to Graeme Allan 10th, P Rawlings 18th..Ladies winner was Gayle Edwards 46 net, 2nd was Jenny Syme 47 net on c/back from Marg Varley.. NTP's went to Jean Somerville 10th, Bette Bowes 18th...

Saturday saw 43 ladies and 56 men playing Stableford on the Presidents Course that saw ladies Division 1 winner going to Adorree Bailey with 38 pts on c/back from Sandra Williams,, Division 2 went to Pauline Wilson with 37 pts followed by Mary McLeay with 35,, NTP was won by Lynne Parry 2nd..  Mens Division 1 winner was Doug Perrett with 37 pts with r/up going to John Henry 36,, Derek McMahon was the Division 2 winner with 39 pts on c/back from Ray Bailey,, Division 3 was won by Denis Garner with38 pts R/up went to William Tendeson 35.. NTP went to Laurie Seymour 18th..

Sunday was Stroke for 10 ladies and Stroke Mthly Medal +  Best Gross for 71 men. Ladies Stroke winner was Jean Somerville with 71 net.. NTP Shelei Clark 2nd..Mens Division 1 winner was Jason Kerr 74 net on c/back from Adam Purtill..  Michael Cooper was the Division 1 Scratch winner.. Division 2 went to John Crilly with  73 net and was also  the Scratch winner with 83 Runner up was Brett Shaw 71 net.. Division 3 and the Monthly Medal went to Gerry Lawson with 67 net on c/back from Alan Leggate. Division 3 Scratch winner was Alan Leggate..NTP's went to Lindsay Bright 2nd, Peter Cunningham 17th...

Editorial by Jim Williams..

Other Results