14 February - 19 February 2017

  • Home
  •  > 
  • Golf
  •  > 
  • 19th Hole
  •  > 
  • 14 February - 19 February 2017

Tocumwal Golf and Bowls Club Golf Results 14/2 - 19/2/17


The 2017 Victorian 36 Hole Two Person Ambrose Championship sponsored by Kathy and Chris Garnaut of Garnaut Private Wealth was conducted over the weekend of Feb 11 & 12th. Golfers representing 67 golf clubs across NSW, Vic, Qld, SA, & WA participated in what has become in the short history of the championship, the most prestigious and sought after event on the Tocumwal & Bowls Club Calendar. The course was manicured and presented in pristine condition worthy of a championship endorsed by Golf Victoria..

Judy Langford (Yarrawonga) & Madison Peters (Wodonga) shot 67 on Saturday to take a 3 shot lead  over Steffi Vogel (Cobram Barooga) & Bobette Wilkinson (Tocumwal). They held on to thee lead on Sunday  with a 70 to end with 137.. Steffi and Bobette tried hard  make up the deficit but ended up with a total of 142..In the mens division Caleb Bovalino and Chris Tomlinsom (Cobram Barooga) shot a 62 in the 1st round  to lead from Kirk Ardley & Stephen Morgan (Rich River) 64. Caleb and Chris shot a 66 on Sunday for a total of 128 to take the win. Runners up with 132 were Mathew McLeod and Michael Cooper last years winners....

Tuesday saw 34 pairs of ladies playing 2 Person Multiple Stableford with Division 1 going to Bowes / Stark with 69.. followed by Blackman/Blakey 68.. NTP's went to Mary Murdoch 2nd, Rosemary Dell'oro 14th...

On Wednesday we had 108 players on the Captains Course with Division 1 going to Mark O'Brien with 42 pts followed by Caleb Bovalina 38,, Phillip Lovelace was the Division 2 winner with 39 pts on c/back from Bruce Enbom,,Division 3 was won by Rodney Fergeus with 42 pts with runner up going to Gerry Lawson 41.. Thomas Wilton was the Division 4 winner with 37 pts followed by Laurence Rickard 36..NTP's went to Phillip Lovelace 2nd, Malcolm Hart 8th, Richard Scurrell  (Pro Pin $120)..

Saturday saw 43 ladies playing Stableford on the Presidents Course  with Division 1 won by Cheryl Hart who had 35 pts followed by Bev Richard 34.. Linda Forsyth took out Division 2 with 34 pts with Sue Lawson following with 32.. NTP's went to Janie Hills 2nd, Michelle Field 18th..

55 men played Stableford on Saturday with Division 1 being won by Terry Olsen with 39 pts followed by Michael Cooper 38.. Phillip Dungan was the Division 2 winner with 43 pts with r/up going to Ricky Bourke 33.. Division 3 went to Denis Garner with 39 R/up was Peter Stokes Snr with 38.. NTP's went to Bruce Enbom 2nd, David Gibbs 18th..

On Sunday we had our annual Captains V Presidents day with 18 ladies and 74  men playing Stableford on the Captains course that saw Ladies Division 1 win going to Janie Hills with 39 pts on c/back from Lynne Parry... Ntp went to Jill Collins 2nd..

Mens Stableford Division 1 winner was John Crilly with 39 pts followed by Shane Halloran 38.. Division 2 went to Rod Medland with 40 pts with John Washbrook r/up with 36.. Ronald Huy was the Division 3 winner with 36 pts on c/back from Geoffrey Jones... NTP's went to Ken Laidlaw 2nd, Jeremy Patt 17th....The overall result was a resounding win to the Captains for the 2nd year in a row...

Editorial by Jim Williams...